Take Action

Each day, there are opportunities to advocate for emergency housing funding, increased resources for people who are living outside, and increased eviction protection and funding for the affordable homes our communities desperately need. Your elected officials need to hear from you – it really does inform how they make decisions, especially when they hear from many of us at once, or when they understand your personal hardship or experience and how their decisions could improve the situation. Find your local city and county representative’ss contact information below.

Federal Action: February 2021 – The National Low Income Housing Coalition calls on advocates to contact our representatives and let them know how important a strong national eviction moratorium and federal rent relief is for our communities. Use the contact form here.


Contact Your Elected Officials:

Alameda County

Contact your Supervisor Directly:

D1- Scott Haggerty – scott.haggerty@acgov.org – 510-272-6691 (Dublin, Livermore, most of Fremont; part of Sunol, most of  Livermore-Amador Valley area)
D2- Richard Valle – richard.valle@acgov.org – 510-272-6692 (Hayward, Newark, Union City, northern part of Fremont, part of Sunol)
D3- Wilma Chan – wilma.chan@acgov.org – 510-272-6693 (Alameda, San Leandro; part of Oakland – including Chinatown, San Antonio, Fruitvale and Melrose areas; San Lorenzo and Hayward Acres,  Ashland)
D4- Nate Miley – nate.miley@acgov.org – 510-272-6694
(Pleasanton, Castlewood and Happy Valley, part of Oakland  – Lower Hills, South Hills and Elmhurst; Castro Valley, Cherryland, and Fairview; and most of Ashland)
D5 – Keith Carson – keith.carson@acgov.org – 510-272-6695 (Albany, Berkeley, Emeryville, Piedmont, part of Oakland – West Oakland, North Oakland, and the North Hills

Contra Costa County

Contra Costa County Elected Officials:

  1. Supervisor Karen Mitchoff: (Concord, Pleasant Hill, Clayton, Walnut Creek)
    Phone: (925)-521-7100 | Email: supervisormitchoff@bos.cccounty.us | Twitter: @KMitchoff

2) Supervisor Federal Glover: (Pinole, Rodeo, Hercules, Martinez, Bay Point, Pittsburg) Phone: 925-608-4200 | Email: federal.glover@bos.cccounty.us| Twitter: @federaldglover

3) Supervisor Diane Burgis: (Antioch, Oakley, Brentwood)
Phone: 925-252-4500 | Email: supervisor_burgis@bos.cccounty.us

4) Supervisor Candace Andersen: (Orinda, Lafayette, Moraga, Alamo, Danville, San Ramon) Phone: 925-957-8860 | Email: supervisorandersen@bos.cccounty.us | Twitter: @AndersenCandace

5) Supervisor John Gioia: (Richmond, San Pablo, El Cerrito, Pinole, Bayview, East Richmond Heights, El Sobrante, Kensington, Montalvin Manor, Tara Hills, North Richmond, Rollingwood) Phone: 510-231-8686 | Email: john.gioia@bos.cccounty.us | Twitter: @supejohngioia

Oakland

The Oaklandside has compiled information on how to contact your local city council members and how to watch and participate in public meetings.

All Oakland residents are represented by the At-Large councilmember, Rebecca Kaplan. To find out which other councilmember represents you based on where you live, use this Council District Lookup tool.

At-Large (representing all Oakland residents): Rebecca Kaplan: rkaplan@oaklandca.gov

District 1: Dan Kalb:  dkalb@oaklandca.gov

District 2: Nikki Fortunado Bas (Council President): nfbas@oaklandca.gov

District 3: Carol Fife: cfife@oaklandca.gov

District 4: Sheng Thao: sthao@oaklandca.gov

District 5: Noel Gallo: Ngallo@oaklandca.gov

District 6: Loren Taylor: LTaylor@oaklandca.gov

District 7: Treva Reid: TReid@oaklandca.gov

Concord

Tim McGallian – tim.mcgallian@cityofconcord.org

Carlyn Obringer – carlyn.obringer@cityofconcord.org

Laura Hoffmeister – laura.hoffmeister@cityofconcord.org

Dominic Aliano – dominic.aliano@cityofconcord.org

Edi Birsan – edi.birsan@cityofconcord.org

Anti-Eviction Mapping Project:

The Anti-Eviction Mapping Project has made a map of tenant protections across the US the wake of COVID-19: https://www.antievictionmap.com/covid . Anyone can add policies and petitions to it and also go back and edit them as things change, so please feel free to add updated information if you have it.

View our COVID19 Housing Policy page to see what housing policy changes have already been made at the the local, state, and national levels.

Do you need housing, food, help getting medication, or other support as you Shelter in Place? See our list of support available during the COVID19 pandemic or our general affordable housing resources page.

Donate to Support Funds

See our COVID19: Volunteer & Donate page for a full list of organizations you can donate funds and supplies to or sign up to volunteer with. View our COVID19: Volunteer & Donate page.